The world-famous strong-beer (Starkbier)

The Paulaner monks started brewing beer in the cloister as early as 1634.Their rules allowed them only meager nutrition, so that they needed »liquid bread« to strengthen themselves while their strict self-chastisement during Lent. They started to sell their popular beer more and more to the public in order to improve the financial situation of their community. Every March they honored the founder of their order at the Nockherberg by serving very strong beer: What is now known as the »Salvator«.

The first sip was given to the prince-elector. The monastic brewery was starting to become a competition to the civil breweries. The Nockherberg and its shadow-giving chestnut trees, which originally have been used to cool the beer barrels down, which were stored underground, became the embodiment of conviviality and beer enjoyment.

The year-round serving of this special lentbeer started in 1861 at the legendary Zacherl-Kellar on top of the Nockherberg. The restaurant and the festive hall have been reopened in 1950 after they have been completely destroyed during World War II. The restaurant and the festive hall have been celebrated as the so-called »Salvator-Keller«.

Das weltberühmte Starkbier

Für den klösterlichen Hausbedarf hatten die Paulaner Mönche schon ab 1634 Bier gebraut. Ihre Ordensregel erlaubte ihnen generell nur so karge Nahrung, dass sie vor allem während der verschärften Kasteiung in den Fastenzeiten dringend »flüssiges Brot« zur Stärkung brauchten. Um die Klosterkasse aufzufüllen, verkauften sie nach und nach ihr begehrtes Bier auch außer Haus. Jeweils im März schenkten sie zu Ehren ihres Ordensgründers am Nockherberg ein besonders starkes Bier aus: den späteren »Salvator«.

Der erste Schluck wurde dem Kurfürsten als Begrüßungstrunk gereicht. Die klösterliche Braustätte bildete bald eine ernst zu nehmende Konkurrenz für die bürgerlichen Brauhäuser. Der Nockherberg mit seinen Schatten spendenden Kastanien, die eigentlich der Kühlung der unterirdisch lagernden Bierfässer dienten, wurde zum Inbegriff für Geselligkeit und Biergenuss.

Für den ganzjährigen Ausschank dieses ganz besonderen Fastenbieres entstand ab 1861 der oben auf dem Nockherberg liegende legendäre Zacherl-Keller. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg völlig zerstört, konnte man 1950 die Wiedereröffnung der Gaststätte und des Festsaales als »Salvator-Keller« feiern.


HISTORIE IM DETAIL

Salvator
Brand
Abriss
Neubau






Google+ Mich auf YouTube abonnieren